In the midst of working on my final research paper, I found a pattern between Millennials attitudes and the job skills employers are looking for and the transferable jobs skills tutors bring with them. I’m interested to get the results back from what the undergraduates have to say. As for me, I’m not sure where I fall in the midst of this research. I’m not the most technologically-dependent person. Being attached to my cell phone isn’t a necessity for me. If I text it is out of absolute necessity. I don’t do Instagram, Pintrest, or Twitter. I rarely make Facebook status updates anymore, and I don’t have time to watch Youtube videos. If I watch TV, I do it online, and having cable isn’t part of my budget so I don’t DVR HBO shows.

My attitude is one of a Millennial though. I collaborate; I delegate; I think I’m entitled; I know I’m privileged; I’m liberal; I demand instantaneous results even when technology fails to work.

So where does that place me in terms of being a researcher commenting on the millennial generation? I’m objectively placed. This generation is my generation, but I see its flaws and inconsistencies. I see how much my generation wants to engage with each other through social media comments and social justice activism. I want to place writing tutors at the forefront of these activities so they are primed to get the jobs they deserve.

When I took this quiz, I scored a 79. Not extraordinarily high. I still consider myself fairly entitled, however. I am entitled to have an higher education, and in gaining that degree, I am entitled to have a full-time job with benefits. Entitled has negative connotations though. Enabled is perhaps a better word. I’m enabled by my constant connection to the ever-shifting trends of social media to promote my ideas, my content, my beliefs. I can create a brand that’s marketable; I can network, but most of all, I can hope my talents will not go unnoticed.

Comments

Leave a Reply

