Tutoring Evaluation

Posted: January 13, 2014 in Writing Center
Tags: ,

From Thom Hawkins, University of California–Berkeley Writing Center

Listening–I try to be an attentive listener by practicing the following techniques:

Infrequently Sometimes Most of the Time
I use regular eye contact 1 2 3
Smile, nod, or use other gestures that signal my concentration and receptiveness 1 2 3
Concerned body posture, free of distractions 1 2 3
I avoid interuptions, even for the purposes of clarification, until a student has completed his/her message 1 2 3
I use wait time to avoid cutting off a student’s statements and provide enough time for reflection and self-criticism 1 2 3
I take notice of how the student is delivering his/her message including nonverbal clues 1 2 3
While the student is talking, I am thinking chiefly about what he/she is saying, not revealing my own thought on the topic or planning my next statement 1 2 3
I frame my response in the context of the student’s experience not my own 1 2 3
I encourage a student to answer or attempt to answer his/her own questions 1 2 3
To check my understanding, I briefly paraphrase the student’s ideas in my own words 1 2 3
I avoid verbosity and make my questions brief but specific 1 2 3
I don’t overwhelm my student with too many questions 1 2 3
On average I wait more than five seconds between asking a question and saying something myself 1 2 3
I avoid answer my own questions 1 2 3
I balance my questions between open/closed type and between the socratic/discovery type 1 2 3
The intention of my questions is to enlighten, not to intimidate 1 2 3

Explaining–I try to give clear explanations by practicing the following techniques:

Infrequently Sometimes Most of the Time
I give short explanations with appropriate examples or demonstrations 1 2 3
I ask the student to perform a task which will help me measure his/her grasp of the concept or skill 1 2 3
I ask students to provide examples after they have understoon my explanation 1 2 3
I am cautious about giving advice based on my own experience because I am aware my student’s background may be different from mine 1 2 3
I observe my student’s learning habits and structure my teaching approach to his/her needs 1 2 3
Whenever possible I model useful behavior rather than give a long explanation 1 2 3
When it comes to learning I am suspicious of flat yes or no answers 1 2 3
Once I identify students’ typical learning style, I point out strengths and weaknesses so they can be aware of how they learn best 1 2 3
I delay my correction of a wrong answer so that I can first question my own preconceptions 1 2 3

Summary

Infrequently Sometimes Most of the Time
I try to make each tutoring session a joint effort with at least 50% of the work coming from my student 1 2 3
I find out what my student already knows. I discover what he/she needs to know, and then I show him/her how to learn in a way that best suits the individual learning style 1 2 3
I try to concentrate on real learning and self-improvement not just on earning a better grade 1 2 3
Leave a Reply

