Where I’m from poem

Posted: January 10, 2014 in Writing Advice
Tags: , ,

Where I’m from poem

I’m not a huge fan of poetry, but it is a great way to practice playing with imaginative language and rhythm. Knowing where you’re from as a writer makes your writing have heart, power, and meaning. This exercise allows you to confront your inner fears, demons, and desires.

Here’s mine.

 

Where I’m From

I am from a zipper scar.

I am from an offbeat pulse.

 

I am from Pisces swimming against the current in a daydream.

I am from Nana’s crooked toes and tiny feet

and from Aunt Emily’s stubborn tenacity that comes

from resilient German stock.

 

I am from playground wanderings around the perimeter of the swing set

imagining the sky is green and the grass is blue.

I am from words that sting the skin

and words telling me the loser always wins.

 

I am from band thongs, band nipples, and band buses.

I am from marching to the cadence’s staccato beat at game time.

I am from to be early is to be on time and to be on time is to be late.

I am from mark time mark, left right left—no, your other left.

I am from good better best may you never rest until your good is better and your better is best.

 

I am from the smart cookie and gold star judging panel.

I am from having a superstar rating with adoring pubescent fans.

I am from the knowledge base that has all the answers to

“May I go to the bathroom?” and

“Do you have a pencil?”

 

I am from the strong, bitter liquid in the tiny blue teapot.

Add two spoonfuls of sugar and a splash of milk then stir and sip slowly.

I am from book glue and ink

and worn cardboard covers and dog-eared pages

leaning inside tall wooden towers.

 

I am from the genius that happens at one in the morning

with a fat clicky pen in hand.

I am from messy spelling and scribbled handwriting and blackened scratch outs.

I am from bleeding words because a draft is never good enough until it’s fixed.

I am from perfect punctuation, but I brake for style.

 

I am from speeding through stop signs.

Life is too short for someone who is four foot eleven inches tall.

Leave a Reply

